Thebesplayers : Half-Life Fan Remake Site Countdown Teases Reveal Next Week

The fan-created remake may finally be approaching its release, if a new countdown website is any indication.

The official Black Mesa is now home to a mysterious video feed that, when clicked, redirects visitors to another . This site is comprised of nothing but a static-laden countdown showing and–occasionally–the face of Half-Life’s G-Man.

There’s no official word on what this hard-to-read countdown is leading to. The source code reveals it will hit zero on May 5 at 8:47 AM UTC-6 (that’s 7:47 PT, or 10:47 ET), but it’s anyone’s guess as to what we’ll find out then.

Presumably, we’ll be hearing details regarding the next release of Black Mesa. The fan-run project is a remastered version of the original Half-Life built using the Source engine with improved graphics, new voice acting, and a fantastic . It’s been in the works in various forms for more than a decade.

In 2012, we finally got to of the final product (everything up to the Xen section). A year later, it became one of the first games to be , meaning it will eventually be sold through Steam. A free version will also alongside the one available for purchase.

We’ll be keeping an eye on the countdown site as we approach Tuesday. Stay tuned for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *